Velkommen til København!

IMG_5480
Totally standing on a frozen canal

Wow have the last few days been crazy! With settling in to my Residential Community, meeting new people, getting lost and navigating the grocery store where every sign and label is in Danish, the study abroad experience has just begun to sink in. Moving to a whole new country not knowing anyone is such an unreal experience so unlike normal travel, where you know you’re going to see certain sites and be gone after a week or so. All the emotions that come with trying to make friends and adjust to the cold climate while still exploring and going out certainly takes a toll mentally and physically. But it’s all part of the adventure!

IMG_5467
My neighborhood 🙂

Arrival day was unlike any other. Waiting in the airport before my 11 hour flight, I was surprised and comforted to see so many other DIS (Danish Institute for Study Abroad) people there too. Almost everyone surrounding me on the flight was DIS and it was great to make some friends right away. After arriving in Copenhagen, we were all shuffled to the Hilton across the street, where about 1000 other DIS students were mingling around quite confused about the process of getting to the appropriate housing. But after a few hours, everyone got on the right bus and we made our way to our new home for the next four months!

I was placed in a Residential Community, and while all are slightly different and spread out all across the city, they are made up of all American DIS students. My first choice was a Kollegium, apartment style housing with Danish students, because I had hope it would help me make Danish friends, but so far it has still worked out well. It is certainly comforting to be surrounded by other people who are equally as lost as you are.

IMG_0200
Love getting lost in the side streets!

My room is quite large for student housing. My roommate and I share a bathroom and kitchenette, and there is a large common room and kitchen where most people cook and hang out together. There are about 50 other DIS students living on this floor, so learning names and faces is still a process. The weirdest thing housing-wise has been the bathrooms. The bathrooms have open showers where water floods the entire bathroom floor every time you take a shower. This is still something I am trying to adjust to without making a huge mess.

My housing is not located near DIS, it is about a 30 minute commute (including walking and train), so I have quickly learned how to navigate the public transportation system, which I am quite proud of. It’s very easy to take the train, it runs on time and it’s clean. Definitely planning on getting a bike very soon as well! One interesting cultural note I’ve noticed about taking public transit here is how relaxed everyone looks. I sometimes find myself running down the steps and preparing to push my way in to be sure I get on the train, but here everyone just leisurely waits their turn and everyone gets on and off without a problem, even when they are crowded.

We just finished a few days of orientation, which has been a great way to ease ourselves into our new environment. Orientation included scavenger hunts around the city, academic introductions, and guided facilities tours. I’ve already found some great coffee shops and bakeries, and am starting to find my way around certain streets and neighborhoods.

IMG_5508
Opening Ceremony inside the Circus Hall

I just started classes today and am so excited to see what the rest of the semester brings academically. What I love about DIS faculty is that everyone is a current professional in their field. For my Urban Studies Core Course and Strategies for Urban Livability Course, both my instructors are professional architects, which makes me extremely excited to network and gain unique insights into the professional field. This brings an amazing perspective into the classroom, and here the classes are focused on discussions, group work, and projects. I’m pretty sure I don’t have any actual tests!

 

IMG_5536
One of the DIS (Danish Institute for Study Abroad) buildings

I’m excited for the moment when I realize that I know the maze of classrooms and streets like the back of my hand, to be here long enough that I can navigate without a map, and to experience a moment where someone mistakes me as a local.

IMG_5503
Danish meatballs! Tasty!
IMG_5529
A gorgeous City Hall
3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Ashley! I’m so happy for you. It sounds wonderful, even the shower!! Have rain boots ready if you have to go in the middle of the night! Ha ha! I like the idea of professionals as your teachers. They bring practical experience so you can see how some of the concepts you are learning apply in the real world. I don’t think it hurts to live in such a beautiful place either. That helps in the learning process for me!! How nice is it to live in such a clean place too?!!! I’m sure you’ve made a boatload of friends by now. Have fun exploring the city. Are you going to be able to travel a bit around Europe at all? I hope so. I know you’ll enjoy that. I’ll be looking forward to your future entries. Keep them coming! Talk to you next time!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

