Why Copenhagen?

For those of you who know me, you know that I prefer warm, sunny weather and long summer days. So you’re probably wondering why I would voluntarily go live in a place that is cold, snowy, and has short, short days (like 5-6 hours of sunlight a day short).

Copenhagen isn’t your typical study abroad destination, nor is it even on many people’s bucket list. It wasn’t even on my bucket list. But the more I researched it, the more I could picture myself strolling along the cobblestone roads, biking everywhere, and exploring the beautiful castles.

I knew I wanted to study in Europe because I wanted to be able to have the luxury of easily traveling to many different countries while I’m there. I’ve always loved old European cities, with their majestic art and architecture, and knew that I wanted to be surrounded by all the history. People have asked me, “Well, why not Italy? You love Italy and all things Italian.” Which is completely true. But I also knew that I wanted to go someplace I have never been before.

After narrowing it down to Europe, it was just a matter of which programs my school partnered with (which definitely makes life so much easier!) and what I wanted to study. As a Markets and Culture major and Art History minor, I was lucky that pretty much anywhere I went I’d be able to find classes that were fun and still went towards my major electives.

Academically, the Danish Institute for Study Abroad has an amazing urban studies program. I was sold when I learned that I could spend my semester abroad studying cities, architecture, and art. Copenhagen is one of the most forward-thinking, sustainable, and livable cities in the world, and I wanted to find out how they have been able to create innovative architecture while still maintaining the old historical charm.

Denmark is known for having the happiest people in the world, so I’m excited to be thrown into my new home despite the weather. It’ll be a whirlwind of new sights, sounds, and people. (Wish me luck in communicating and reading signs in Danish).

 

Photo Credit

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Ashly, I think you made a wise decision! You’re going to have a great time! I envy you!

    Like

  2. When’s your next post?! We’re all waiting anxiously.

    Like

  3. 🇩🇰 ✈️

    Like

Leave a Reply

